Oops Search?


Have you ever almost (or actually) typed something into Google search then realized, “Oh shit! What was I thinking?”

I had a moment like that at work the other day. I had something in my head that I wanted to look up and almost Googled it but caught myself right before hitting Search. I couldn’t believe I was actually going to type that in as a search keyword. It wasn’t a bad word but I was at work and (I realized) it would have brought up a bunch of nasty sites which probably would have thrown some alarms in the local IT department. I’ve been here long enough and that sort of thing has never happened before so I’m pretty sure they’d believe I wasn’t intentionally looking that sort of thing up. I think I ended up using Dictionary.com instead.

I bet you’re wondering what the heck I was going to look up? Me too. I can’t remember.

Instead, I’ll pass along a story a friend in the Department of Fisheries and Oceans told me. They were on a lunch break and somehow got talking about sewers and one of them asked why the covers are circular. My friend decided he’d consult the great archive of all things – the internet – and popped over to Google. He then typed in “manhole” and clicked search.

Let’s just say, he wouldn’t suggest doing that search at work. And I still can’t remember what I was going to search for. Argh!

(Manhole covers are circular – with a lip – because no matter which way you turn or flip them, they won’t actually fall into the hole so it’s a safety thing.)

One thought on “Oops Search?

Leave a Reply

