Neat Movie…


A movie managed to keep me from logging back into WoW to do my fishing daily quest. I can’t say it was a great movie, but the idea was pretty neat, if not done before. Still, it would have been great to see with a bigger budget and less melodramatic acting.

The movie was called Absolon. It starred Christopher Lambert, Lou Diamond Phillips, Ron Perlman, Kelly Brook and Roberta Angelica. Those last two are probably what kept me mezmorized.

The destruction of the rainforest released a nasty virus that was killing people off really fast. Someone discovered a way to hold it off but not totally cure it so the big nasty corporation started mass producing this stuff, Absolon, and soon enough it becomes currency. You work for and get paid with time to hold off the virus – or doses of Absolon.  Nifty idea.

The idea of someone having a cure or attempting to prevent a cure so that they can hold others hostage isn’t a unique theme, but I couldn’t help but watch it. Even if it was somewhat cheesey. I admit, I was a little put off about it being rated R when I don’t remember hearing any swearing and there didn’t seem to be any overly graphic violence (aside from a sniper shot that looked pretty fake). And, most unfortunately, there was no nudity.

I think I’m going to have to keep my eye on SPACE channel to see if any more of these gems pop up.

Leave a Reply

