Rhymes of the Innocent…


I was sitting downstairs on the computer for my Saturday morning WOW session with some friends. My oldest son was sitting behind me playing with some knights and orks. My wife comes downstairs, sees me on the computer and says, “I guess I’ll start doing my chores then.”

My son pipes up with,”chores whores!” It was a completely innocent rhyme with the word ‘chores’.

We looked at each other, smothered a smile and proceeding to explain to him that you don’t use that word until you understand what it means… which should be in a few more years.

By the way, it always cracks me up when the wife seems surprised that I’m playing on the computer Saturday morning. I’ve been doing that for years now. You’d think she’d clue in by now. Friday night, Saturday morning unless she has something important that needs to get done or something that can’t wait until Saturday afternoon or evening.

The downside of not having a gaming spouse, they tend to value sweeping the bottom of the driveway more than playing a MMO with some friends.

5 thoughts on “Rhymes of the Innocent…

  1. Oh, she clues in, alright… She just sees that maybe there are more important things to be done on Saturdays. I’d love to be gaming whenever I want… Unfortunately more important things come before that.

    So yeah, as much of a PITA they are, things like the driveway, or thatching and seeding the lawn, or building a trampoline, come before games.

  2. Who said I game when ever I want? I game Friday night and Saturday morning, aside from Wednesday night D&D.

    Most of the crap she thinks needs to be done immediately is stuff that can wait until I’m done. Her problem is that she can’t sit still and always has to be doing something.

    Let me put it this way, if she said, “Oh you have to move those leaves tonight, so no D&D.” I’m sure you’d be equally understanding. 🙂

    And that’s the thing. It’s minor things that *can* wait.

    (hehe Bits)

  3. Well sure… when D&D is involved, yeah, I’d be annoyed too. That being said, just because you think it isn’t important, doesn’t mean she doesn’t and it isn’t.

  4. “That being said, just because you think it isn’t important, doesn’t mean she doesn’t and it isn’t.”

    Funny, that’s exactly my point.

    Just because she thinks what I’m doing isn’t important, it takes a back seat to trivial, non-critical things she feels need to be done right away when they could be done once I’m done doing what I’m doing.

    “How do you write women so well? I think of a man and I take away reason and accountability.” John Updike.

Leave a Reply

