Thoughts on Champions Online


Unpolished.

That’s the first thing I noticed. When I target a mob there is this outline which seems to include what ever is near it which looks weird – very wire frame-like. I suspect it could be my video drivers which I should update soon.

I couldn’t figure out how to throw things I picked up. When I pick something up my action bar fills with one single ability – smash. Which is neat.

Coming back to the polish for a second, I picked up a trash can and it wasn’t big enough for my character’s model to hold over his head but it floated anyway.

Another issue I had was with my resolution being so big I couldn’t read the fonts in the quest dialogs and tip dialogs. I could, but I had to squint a bit. I don’t think it was intentional because there was a lot of unused terrain on those dialogs. I went looking to see if I could find a way to turn the font size up a bit but couldn’t find it. Instead I ended up scaling the whole UI up. The fonts fit better but now my action bar, rader and unit frame were all pretty big. Ah well.

The cloth physics are neat, but they run into some problems in the character creation where they slip through and end up backwards. Minor, in game was fine.

I do like that the auto-attack isn’t the same for every hero, instead it reflects their power more – it is actually a power.

I was expecting a lot more customization for powers, how they look and where they come from, but it’s not in this game.

I also didn’t see where you get to create your nemesis? Maybe that’s at higher levels – anyone know?

Overall, it’s more of the same but with more character creation options and controls that should easily translate to a console.

I ended up seeing how close I could remake my CoH characters starting with the one my son liked a lot; Assault Rifle/Devices Blaster (a.k.a. Ghost Op).

My son isn’t too keen on this guy, mainly because he saw my Blaster when he was higher level so he had way more powers available to him. The travel power you see there is the Acrobatics one. It’s okay I guess, I was sort of hoping for an urban acrobatic much like in Infamous but it doesn’t work that way.

I then remade one of my Scrappers, Sasha Yoshiko, that always had an easy time getting groups. I’m not sure why…

She was a Claws/Combat Reflexes one but in CO I made her use two swords and kick (normally you get two different sword attacks, but I decided I wanted her to be able kick people).

I apologize for the seeming slow responsiveness of the fights, it’s actually because my 1 and 2 keys seemed to have become unmapped from the action bar for some reason. I fixed it in the future videos.

In this video you’ll also see that creatures sometimes grab you and you have to mash your Z button to get out and then you should move of the enemy will follow up with a nasty attack. It doesn’t really look like you’re getting grabbed, instead you can’t move or attack and your action bars end up switching to that one ‘break free’ ability.

Next up was the first CoH character I ever created, Netherdemon. He was a Dark Melee/Regen Scrapper that was a lot of fun. He had Teleport for travel powers but this guy didn’t get there yet. I remade him to be a Might type character.

You’ll note the trash can I was talking about. Netherdemon is a big guy, although originally (in CoH) he was modeled more on Nightcrawler.

Last I recreated my iconic superhero character, Xtreem, who was a Fire/Ice Blaster with flight. A lot of fun. I had to customize the power selection for this character. I gave her ice shards and a big fire blast.

As you can see she got an Icewall ability that can trap and damage people and I also picked up Fire Flight with her. I almost went with the Ice Sliding option which was portrayed to be like Iceman. (Yes there is a point where I seem to lag in that video, it’s not you, it’s me… around 1:19)

I also created a Power Armor type character which is green, yellow and orange (for the LittleBigOgre who loves green) but I didn’t get to play him because it was 3am Sunday morning when I was done.

Okay, the truth is, the time had nothing to do with it, when I logged in I had some issues where the screen was black except for some shiny blue model pieces. Again, is it me or the game? I don’t have issues with other games but maybe this one is using the drivers differently but then it was working fine before so I’m not sure why it would suddenly stop working. I’ve since rebooted and I still get that issue so I’m going to blame the game.

Updating drivers once the movies are all done uploading and available.

The bottom line for me and this game is I will only get it my son asks me to and says he’ll play it.

His reaction to the game  so far was, “Daddy, can you install City of Heroes?”.

EDIT: I updated my video drivers and all is well for now though I still see issues targeting. 

The LittleBigOgre is playing it now as I install CoH on this machine (my old one). I’ve got him set up with a 14 day trial account for now. He’s reluctant to cancel WoW but wants to play this game.  If I’m guessing right, he won’t play for more than a couple of sessions which makes the trial perfect.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Champions Online

  1. Oh, also… that outlining effect when you target something is there on purpose. Red for enemies, green for friendlies. You may have had some glitches with it; I haven’t noticed any myself.

    Also, in the powers panel in-game you can adjust the character’s origin for the power effects (eyes, fists, palms, chest, etc.) as well as their color.

  2. RE. Nemesis: Thanks, I thought that might have been the case.

    RE. Targeting: Oh I understood that the outlining was part of their target highlighting, the issue I see is that there is some leaking to targets and terrain around it. If you watch the Sasha video you’ll see it a lot around the park fences.

Leave a Reply

