Unwarranted Wife Agro?


Is it unwarranted if you actually ask (a first for me) and get a “sure” back? Or is “sure” sort of like “fine” but in a “yes” sort of way? (i.e. “sure… if you want to sleep on the couch” only they don’t actually say the, “if you want to sleep on the couch” part)

Yesterday I was running some dailies before supper, went and had some supper and came back to turn it off because we were going to go to the grocery store. I catch that a guild group was looking for a tank for the heroic daily so I actually said, “Let me check with the wife.” I called upstairs, “Can it wait a half hour?”

“Sure,” is what I got back from the wife.

I the group gets going and I’m rushing a bit – never good as a tank. We lose some people on the first boss because some mobs went out of my taunt range to squish the healer. I think we had already lost the mage (he was a PUG) due to poison damage. The encounter is already started though so we exit to reset, come back in, rez up and rebuff.

This time the healer stays a little closer to me and I pay attention to curing poison (something I slack on because I usually don’t have to do it). I don’t blame the healer, I’m just used to having a shaman as a healer (that isn’t always you Tim; Mike and Justin too hehe) so I save the global cooldown for building more threat.

We get through the boss and are on our way to the next one which goes better. Cool.

At around this point I can hear the kids getting restless and I can hear the wife sorting it out – which is good, they have to learn patience. The wife comes down and says, “What? I’m waiting so you can play your game?”

“Yup, I’m almost done and you said it was okay.”

She goes back upstairs as we start the fight with the last boss. It’s only a couple of minutes long and we actually got an achievement for killing it fast. The dust settles and I realize it is quiet upstairs. I grab the daily quest item needed from that mob and the Mage opens a portal to Dalaran which I hastily jump through. I thank everyone and log out.

I go upstairs saying I’m ready to go only to discover they’ve already left.

There are a couple of observations here.

1. The kids start being pests and impatient so she gives in.
2. Even though she said it was okay to hold off a half hour it wasn’t once she realized it was so I could play a game.
3. The kids have her patience.
4. It really is better to ask forgiveness than ask for permission when they change their minds after they’ve already agreed.

Bud Light’s sales guys are soooo right.

When she got home I helped her bring in the groceries and helped get the kids ready for bed. I then read them two books and tucked them in.

When I got downstairs I was met with a cold reception – no room for me on the couch except at one end where her feet were.

“You’re expecting me to rub your feet, aren’t you? You do know you said I had 30 minutes and if I have 30 minutes, I have 30 minutes no matter what it is for.”

“Go play your game.”

That’s worse than, “fine”.

“No, it’s okay, I’ll sit and watch something with you,” painful sigh.

“Well there is nothing on,” she said. I new it was a trap.

“I’ve got some of The Unit recorded if you want to watch one,” because she’ll be asleep when the clock hits 9pm. She knew I was thinking that so she stayed awake long enough to spite me. After The Unit was over (9:30pm) she was excited to see the season finale of In The Dark was on (internal groan).

In The Dark is a reality TV show where they stick three men and three women in a house that is divided in two with the only connecting room being pitch black. Couples meet and talk in the dark, make a connection, or not, then ask to go on a ‘date’ in the dark room after that.

Great TV.

Two of the girls didn’t like their guys while those two guys were pretty excited to see the girls and the last guy wasn’t too sure about how he felt about the way the last girl looked but she was impressed with his looks.

The first girl was an idiot (if I had to watch it, I’m going to blog about it and make the rest of you suffer too). She was a Yoga Instructor who thought the world of the guy until she saw him. He wasn’t hideous, he was tall, well dressed and seemed average build – not muscular. She thought he was scruffy looking and had a potbelly. Look who’s talking chicky. For a Yoga Instructor you don’t seem very fit. So not only was she a hypocrite but she was shallow too. Dude, you lucked out by her not being interested in you.

The second girl was a stuck up prude who wasn’t all that  bright. She was immediately iffy about the way the guy looked, he was average height, seemed well built and not bad looking (but what do I know?). He also dressed nicely and was well groomed. She left him hanging and was all upset afterwards. What ever. The guy didn’t stand a chance because you were too uptight to begin with.

The last girl wore a hideous dress and was a little meaty, not obese, but she had some more to love. She had a really pretty face but I think the dress she wore really detracted from that. It was black, high neck, long with white emphasis on the design and it had this big white buttons. WTF? Are you trying to look good for him or are you dressing for work as a school teacher? The guy was young, seemed party-focused and superficial. He was making lots of comments about looks being important and not knowing if he could get over it. He saw her and was really indecisive. In the end he came out to give her a try.

So either the girls were shown to be really superficial because they ditched the guys despite claiming to have a good connection and liking their personalities a lot while or the guys were simply desperate.

Again, great TV.

The wife went to bed after that so I hopped back on the computer to tidy up some loose ends. I’ll be honest, 10 pm is not my ideal bed time. I’m usually not even close to tired.

I puttered around on my Druid alt for a bit (level 8 now, /flex) and I can’t wait to get her to the level where she gets the cat form. I’m aiming her for Feral simply for leveling purposes then I’ll likely stay as Feral/Resto. She’s twinked with the PVP Heirloom shoulders (+10% xp) and the PVE leather BP (+10% xp) – both of those items are aimed at melee. I figured if she’s going to be Feral DPS for leveling, might as well have the melee leather heirlooms. As a bonus I can pass them between her and my Rogue.

I switched over to Lannister for a second and people were preparing a 25 man raid on Sarth (big dragon). I ended up joining in on that and we decided we’d do it with 20 people for the achievement and we did it pretty easily even after the initial pull screw up that seems like it is a tradition now. Last time I tanked it, I went to the left to pull while the other tank went to the right. Only being awesome like I am, I also nabbed the wandering group as well which meant all sorts of wiping. This time we only got the two stand-still groups and pulled them together for some massive AEing.

Credit to our healers on that one, they did a good job healing even when I accidentally got some agro. hehe

I logged Lannister off after that because it seemed like the usual night owls were turning in for the evening early so I hopped on as Olen (Shadow Priest) to give TourGuide a shot in Zangarmarsh.

I hate Zangarmarsh.

I think I hate that it is out there in the open and it is such a difference from the other areas – really, BC expansion zones are all really different without any nice flow into eachother as far as terrain goes. But I hate Zangarmarsh the most because of the colors, mushrooms and the feeling that you’re underground without actually being under ground. Oddly enough, I think I would have been fine with it if it was underground.

TourGuide helped prioritize and order which quests to pick up, where to bind and when to do turn ins. Really it’s a planner and doesn’t really reveal where these things are outside of some short descriptions – but that’s what QuestHelper is for.

Hey. I’ve done that zone three times now, I don’t really care about spoilers because it’s be spoiled already the first time I went through with Smaken.

I made some good momentum with it once I sorted out which quests were already done. It does add an interesting point of view on when to do things and what order to do them in.

I was in bed by 1am and up at 6am. All is good except my hands smelled like feet when I woke up.

Leave a Reply

