The Gathering Storm…


I’m referring to book number 12 of the Wheel of Time series. I just finished reading it last night or this morning if you want to be precise – it was around 1 am.

Good book, definitely much like the others but a lot more loose ends getting tied up and more information being revealed. There was one thing that was sort of thrown out there for consumption which was a little bit of a surprise – effectively another loose end to be tied up or explained later. Maybe I’m just forgetting what was said in previous books but I don’t think so.

Anyway, back to the book. It doesn’t end the series, there will definitely be one more book, if not two. I have to admit, I do really look forward to the upcoming books.

SPOILER.

It seems to be going the route of The 5th Element. That’s just my guess.

You have the Shadow which is this big evil force bent on consuming everything and you have the Light, a concept of goodness, love and life that the ‘good guys’ are trying to preserve. In the middle you have this fellow who is going to confront this evil and defeat it.

It looks to be going in this direction where it’s going to come down to this one guy’s choice of wanting everything to end over wanting things to continue. I’m not sure there will really be a significant battle as suggested. There are hints that the previous incarnation of this fellow failed, though if he failed you’d think the ‘world’ would have ended so I think he failed to make a final choice, instead, he killed himself which meant no actual choice was made either way. Things remained as they were until he was reborn and would then be required to make the final choice.

At least that’s my take.

As I said, it all comes down to this fellow making the choice of saving the world or letting it die, much like in The 5th Element where they had to make the ‘perfect weapon’ want to save everything.

2 thoughts on “The Gathering Storm…

  1. There will be two more books, they have already said. Each will be released one year apart.

    I think there will be some kind of battle, but you are right in the sense that ultimately it is about the choices they characters make. In keeping with the Buddhist influences throughout the series, life is about the choices we make, not who can beat up whom in a big fight.

    That has been hinted at several times, including by Verin in this last book (she said the ‘last battle’ wasn’t going to be like what Rand thought).

    I look forward to the rest of the story; sad that Jordan could not write it himself but I think they really did make the best of a bad situation.

  2. Yup, two more books for sure. I saw the release dates and titles at the local bookstore’s site.

    I caught what Verin said and that is the main thing that lead me to thinking what I’m thinking. I think it is going to come down to denying that “one true power” even after having touched it when overcoming the collar.

    The running theme seemed to point to Rand constantly picking up the access key to that great big angreal – constant hinting of more power.

    I suspect Aviehenda and Elayne will assist him in using Callandor which is likely more of what Min’s visions were about than marriage.

Leave a Reply

