A Little More Mass Effect 2…


I played a little more of Mass Effect 2, not a lot but some more. It’s pretty damn good.

I won’t spoil anything but it’s really cool to have Joker and the Normandy back after the original Normandy was blown up by – I’m assuming – the Collectors who are working for the Reapers.

Oops, did I spoil it?

I am a little disappointed you don’t get the band back together, but hey, you do get some new folks which keeps things interesting.

Does Miranda look familiar to anyone else? It was bothering me a bit while I was playing and then I realized… I’ve seen her on Chuck. It seems she also does the voice acting. I also recognized the voice of the Illusive Man. Here’s a list of voice actors in the game (wikipedia):

Actors Martin Sheen, Michael Dorn, Carrie-Anne Moss, Yvonne Strahovski, Tricia Helfer, Shohreh Aghdashloo, Adam Baldwin, Simon Templeman and Michael Hogan voice characters in the game. Keith David and Seth Green continue their roles in the series as David Anderson and Jeff “Joker” Moreau respectively.

Yvonne Strahovski and Tricia Helfer… rawr…

More info about changes:

1. Skill/Talent tree point assignment changes – they’ve streamlined it and I’m not sure I like it. I don’t hate it, but I liked having more choices that you had in Mass Effect.

All the abilities available seem more like active abilities with one passive ability that grants more health and damage or what ever benefit the class would use. Training into armor seems to be gone as is training into weapons, which is sort of disappointing (to me). From the sounds of it, a lot of people didn’t like having a lot of choice and worried too much about building bad characters.

Dumbasses.

2. Inventory and gearing systems – I’m still iffy about this. You can’t seem to equip your gear on the fly, instead you have to set up a casual look and then your ‘business attire’ – and by business, I mean armor.

On the positive, it looks like you will be able to mix and match armor parts instead of having a single complete suit that is sort of the same just different colors (exception seems to be the Blood Dragon armor which is a complete armor set, no customization).

Speaking of colors, you can customize your armor colors. I went with the Cerberus colors of black, white and yellow. I probably should be using the Blood Dragon armor because the stats are better, but I’m not sure I like how it looks. It meshes okay with what I feel is Mass Effect look, but not as well as the starting armor.

3. Normandy layout is a little different, but also sort of the same. You have a kitchen on board, separate quarters from what you used to have (those quarters are Miranda’s now), engineering and the hold are different looking and you have an administrative assistant who I’ve already busted several moves on with apparent success.

The load up for your team members is handled here in like in the previous Normandy, only the UI is different. I haven’t really figured it out yet, but I suspect that it will make more sense when I actually have other weapons or armor to switch squad members into. I’m not sure if you can customize their armor or colors, they might be stuck with what ever the stock look of the armor is.

4. You’re a hero working for what seems like a terrorist organization (operate in cells, few people know what the other cells are doing, you have one big mastermind behind it all that know one meets or knows) that isn’t well liked by alien races because this organization (Cerberus which is mentioned a little in the previous ME) is pro-Humanity. The distrust by alien races seems to be the main reason Shepperd is picked up by Cerberus (okay, he wasn’t really picked up so much as rebuilt) and I’m already starting to mend fences and build new bridges.

Talking to a lot of the crew members, you get a feel for what the organization is about and why people join it. The main one is that Cerberus takes action rather than debates over things like the Alliance/Council does.

This is an interesting twist on a hero role.

Overall, I’m loving it… more so than McDonald’s.

4 thoughts on “A Little More Mass Effect 2…

  1. MMMMM, I like McDonalds!

    I looked up the voice actors as well last night, so glad I wasn’t the only one. ME2 has definitely been streamlined when compared to the first game.

  2. I have some sympathy for Bioware on this one. Mass Effect was such an amazing, nearly perfect game that surpassing it was an effort almost automatically doomed to failure. But what surprises and disturbs me is how Mass Effect 2 seems to have intentionally fumbled that effort by taking much that was great about Mass Effect and deleting it on purpose.

  3. I do as well, they were a victim of the previous game’s success.

    If I had to guess, they made too many changes in other areas and that ate up Dev time so they dropped some of the other aspects that were in the original.

  4. I certainly agree with everything you said. Your explanation was by far the easiest to understand. Honestly I usually get so annoyed when folks discuss issues that they obviously know nothing about. You managed to hit the nail right on the head and explained out everything without complication. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

