Caving In…


I’m caving to the pressure of everyone else getting new PCs and I’m going to have to get one too.

I rationalize it by saying my current PC will get passed on to the wife/kids and with it a 22” monitor which will replace their 19” with the discoloration in the upper left corner.

I’ve been fighting the urge for well over a year now but it’s got me. On the bright side, it’s going to be far less than half what I usually pay since it’s a pre-packaged system rather than customizing and getting all the best parts.

ATTENTION MEN! “Alrighty” is the new “fine”! Be warned! If you tell the spouse you’re about to go spend a couple of thousand on a PC and she says, “alrighty” she really means “fine” which we all know means something else entirely different…

The system uses the i7 860 CPU, weighs in with 16GB of DDR RAM, 1.5 tb HD space, a blu-ray drive, a 23” monitor (which will be sitting along side my 24” – I love me some two monitor action) and an ATI 5850HD 1gb video card.

This is going to be the first time I ever buy a pre-packaged system. I think it’s solidifying the fact that I’m unwilling to play the “chase the latest hardware” game.

I’ll likely spend the night working to remove the default installed crap on there. I’ll have to deactivate some of the software I have on my current system and clean that up too. And move files from the wife/kids PC over for back up purposes.

Good times!

3 thoughts on “Caving In…

  1. Don’t you love when wives say that. It is like their golden ticket to buy whatever they want for the next year. There is no such thing as a free lunch.

Leave a Reply

