Cultural Name Changes…


There are a lot of people I work with or have to communicate that work in India or China or they live here and have non-English names. In order to not hear or see their names brutalized, they often adopt “English” names like “Steve”, “Chris” or “Daisy” (that last one seems pretty popular.

I wonder why no one goes with something else, something cooler. “Phoenix” or “Bear” or “Wolf” or maybe even “Shepherd” like in Mass Effect.

That got me thinking, maybe I should have an Indian (Hindi) name or Chinese name.

If you had to rename yourself to a more culturally accepted name if you were working in another country what would you go with?

“Dingdong Woo” would be up there on my list. I’d giggle inside every time someone addressed me.

Leave a Reply

