Of All the Things I Miss, I Miss…


… dungeons the most.

Though I have to admit, ‘my mind’ would be up there too.

Awhile back on my D&D group’s board I posted a bunch of entries from a Dungeon Master’s Guide which noted all the different types of players, what interests them, what bores them and how to keep them happy or in line so they don’t ruin things for others.

It was a really good write up.

As can be expected, we started categorizing each other and one of use noted there were very few ‘thinker’ types (like puzzles or figuring things out) or ‘explorer’ types.

That got me thinking, are we lacking those types or are they less than obvious?

Generally we don’t have a lot of puzzles in our game, they tend to eat up too much time that is focused on one player rather than the group as a whole. But then I remembered a couple of times one of the DMs introduced a puzzle or coded letter. Two members perked up immediately and went to decrypting it. Another time there were shaped ‘keys’ that had to be inserted in a given order which they figured out.

So I think we do have ‘thinkers’ in our group, they’re just dormant because it’s not something we add to our games enough.

The ‘explorer’ is another one that seems dormant or at least is more of a personal enjoyment. I know I get bored of lots of overland travel through normal or typical areas. In the recent campaign there was a fair bit of that and I noted my interest or the excitement increased when we hit some unusual areas like great long bridges over large chasms or walkways over swampy land.

These differences were interesting and got me thinking about what might happen. Would something swoop in and attack? Would the bridge begin to collapse? Would some big large critter break the surface of the water and attempt to devour my little Goblin ass?

These are more interesting than walking through woods or low hills. Mountain passes? Okay… but throw some navigating of narrow ledges to add some excitement. This is supposed to be an adventure, right?

Unfortunately, there wasn’t a lot of ‘dungeon crawling’ in that campaign but I did like the concept of a giant’s city, run by a brutal dictator. That was spice added that made the meal for my mind all that more tasty.

Still, some of those are just rare occurrences and can’t compare to the fun of delving a dungeon, exploring, discovering and taking the risks with my character that I wouldn’t do myself.

Travel from point A to B without anything interesting going on or any worthwhile sites is just travel. Traveling through amazing and new sights is far more interesting.

Combat is just combat. Add some twists from time to time can make it more exciting (this is something Eberron tried to incorporate).

Adventure needs to be adventuresome.

Risk takers should be rewarded, but that doesn’t mean risk should be forced on everyone any more than everyone wants to live in a padded cell.

Just some thoughts…

Leave a Reply

