EQ2 Feels Dirty


Call me crazy, but every time I think of EQ2 I can’t help but feel like it’s dirty. Not in the typical way, just that there is so much shit in there now that going back to it would be overwhelming. It’s like an episode of Hoarders – so much stuff lumped into that game which – to me – feels like it’s piled on top. And despite having all that stuff (or maybe because of that), I’d end up playing through the same areas, doing the same quests and getting the same HQs again.

A gamer friend is talking about it a lot to me at the moment because he’s managed to convince several co-workers into playing it (netting him three months of free subscription with two more months on the way). It’s nice to hear about but, as I said above, I don’t see myself going back to playing it.

Because it feels dirty. My characters are in a messy state where I have two different types of AAXP to sort out, various HQs, all sorts of changes to the game mechanics, etc.

In some ways, the WoW mechanics have ruined me because I can’t help but feel there is more choice in WoW with less mess than EQ2. I guess one way to put it is that WoW mechanics allow for a clearer path – I can see where I want to go with a character and steer him that way where as in EQ2 it seems like there is a lot of stuff that is just… stuff for the sake of being there.

At least that’s how I feel every time I go back to the game.

That and I don’t like the art change they made, ironically, to look more like WoW. Okay, call it higher fantasy, more colorful, what ever. I don’t like it. I don’t like Neriak and I don’t like Echoes of Faydewyr… or however that’s spelled. I didn’t mind Gorywn and actually thought that starting area was good.

Maybe I’ll give this new free-to-play sample a shot, even though you get limited to some pretty boring races and classes.

Ah, who am I kidding? I don’t have time for that.

EQ2 remains dead to me.

Leave a Reply

