DC Universe Online?


I was flipping through Steam the other day when I saw that DCUO was going to be released and available for play in the next couple of days. I showed it to the LittleBigOgre and the LittleLittleOgre and they were interested. LBOgre admitted that it looked like it would be more fun to play than City of Heroes.

I’m so glad I signed him up for CoH again.

I started debating the logistics of it. It’s a less violent game than some of the other games I have (and the LBOgre has played), but there is a monthly fee attached. I could see picking up two copies of it and playing with him from time to time or allowing him and the LLOgre to play together.

But then I remembered that really didn’t work out so with with Lego Universe. Though they both REALLY like superhero games and especially things involving Batman or Superman. I also remembered being unable to use my computer without pulling a child away (they miraculously cling to the desk like they have suction cups on their hands or something).

The other thing that really did me in was this bit about the beta uninstaller not working too well. And I’m being nice when I say, “not too well.”

I think I’m going to wait and see if they have a trial version which uninstalls correctly, then I’ll get two and see if the kids like it or can handle it in the LLOgre’s case.

LLOgre has the PS3/2 controller down. He’s even able to tell LBOgre and his grandmother which inputs to use to get to which devices (Wii, PS2, PS3, DVD or cable). But he hasn’t had too much luck with the mouse and keyboard. He putters around in CoH (when LBOgre isn’t playing it) from time to time but I’m not sure if he should have his own copy or even a shared one with me since I don’t know when I’ll find time to play it.

So trial versions it is.

Okay, I admit it, the LLOgre also reminds me which devices are on which inputs.

 

2 thoughts on “DC Universe Online?

Leave a Reply

