It’s Not Me, It’s You…


Oh wait, it’s the other way around isn’t it?

Two things; Rift and Bloggers.

I took a look at how much free time was left on my Rift account yesterday and saw that my billing hadn’t kicked in yet and I was still on my ‘free month’. If you signed up for the head start, then you probably have about five days left of the free time (from the time of this posting).

Realizing my six month subscription didn’t kick in yet, I cancelled.

It’s not a bad game, I just don’t have a lot of time for it right now. Admittedly, it doesn’t require a lot of time. I’ve barely played and I’m three zones in and over half way to the level cap with no sight of things slowing down.

It was a nice little distraction and I think the game could do well enough if it can retain people.

I’m already getting that from WoW.

The ad campaign for Rift is true, it isn’t Azeroth – it looks prettier, with more updated graphics and effects, but it still plays like WoW.

One thing I did learn from Rift?

I figured out a better keybind scheme for my WoW Rogue.

 

On to item two. Bloggers.

It seems a number of bloggers are disappearing or giving up on blogging. Again, it’s you. You somehow let your blog become their blog. You started trying to cater to your audience and appease them (be it by giving them content they wanted or by ensuring you answered them in the comments as much as possible). In that way you lost sight of the hobby that blogging is supposed to be.

It became a job.

How do you fix it?

Blog for you. Don’t blog for WoW or Rift or WAR or for any one specific item. Ultimately, people read your blog because they liked (or were entertained by) what you had to say however you said it.

Accept that it’s your blog and what you put up there reflects your thoughts or what you want people to think you’re thinking. (That’s always a fun one.)

Blog because you want to, not because you feel you owe it to your readers.

9 thoughts on “It’s Not Me, It’s You…

  1. >> Ultimately, people read your blog because they liked (or were entertained by) what you had to say however you said it.

    No wonder your readership is so low.

  2. “Blog because you want to, not because you feel you owe it to your readers. ”

    QFT. But sometimes there’s just no time or will to blog – RL has a way of doing unpredictable things. That’s not pandering to the audience, that’s pandering to one’s own sanity, of which I highly approve (since I have so little of it left). šŸ˜‰

  3. It looks nice and was fun, but I’m getting the same gameplay through WoW, really. Also, I really don’t have the time for two MMOs. And LBO is playing WoW šŸ™‚

  4. “It looks nice and was fun, but Iā€™m getting the same gameplay through WoW, really. Also, I really donā€™t have the time for two MMOs. And LBO is playing WoW”

    Read: I don’t have time to play Minecraft.

  5. yea, I understand and was looking forward to playing together where you didn’t outlevel me by 15 levels after a week šŸ˜‰ I could play casually and still be at the same place (and not burn through all content in a month).

    o well, let me know if you come back šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

