Rogers and WoW


Lum the Mad over at Broken Toys posted something I recently heard about on the radio (this morning actually).

I’m Rogers customer and can’t complain about them now. If you asked me about eight years ago, I probably wouldn’t have been as pleased with them.

I was aware of their policy of throttling bitTorrent type downloads and have no issue with it. Short of Blizzard’s WoW patcher, I have yet to see bitTorrent used for something that was legal. I also have yet to see anyone in the Security business agree that it’s a good and safe means.

I’m guessing a lot of people (I didn’t say, “all”) complaining about Rogers have issue with it because they use their net connection for downloading TV shows, movies, or software – likely not legally.

About the only place this really impacts you is during patching or while downloading content during play – this is something I’ve done and it doesn’t seem to cause any issues for me. Maybe I’m lucky.

2 thoughts on “Rogers and WoW

  1. Correct but more specifically for Blizzard’s use of BitTorrent as a vehicle for patching. Regular downloads they don’t seem to throttle.

    Technically, if you’re using anything online you’re downloading (or uploading). đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

