Smooth Like Butter…


Butter is smooth like butter, not the 4.1 patch. That was bumpy. After extended maintenance there were several server reboots. Well one, but the instance servers kept having issues.

I expected a lot of addon breaks, though something like Recount exploding was a surprise. Also seemed to cause people to lag out – probably because of all the errors it was throwing. But addons aside, wow.

I pop in as Smaken, cycle through my pets watching as they silently auto-ding to 85. So unrewarding. Ah well. I puttered around closing all the various Swatter controlled addon bugs (eventually I disabled several; MSBT, Recount and SUF to name a few) as I did my dailies, checked my luck on some rare drop mounts from TBC (Ravenlord from Sethek Halls and the other bird from Magister’s Terrace). Things were fine.

I switched over to Kremus to do one of the new instances (Smaken’s ilevel is too low to get into those) but we ran into issues. Namely that the instance could not be found. Woo! After several attempts we gave up, I went and ate supper.

I got back and puttered around on Smaken some more – completing all my TB quests. I decided I’d stop slacking and get back to completing the Twilight Highlands zone on Smaken – that should open up more dailies – yay! (zzzz)

I got part way through when I got invited into a heroic group with some guildies (just some lowly members like the guild leader and another officer – no one special) so we queued up for a heroic. Got GB. Whee. Got to the first boss, wiped with the damn boss being a Kill Shot away from dying and me being the last one standing… with Kill Shot ticking away on cooldown… grrr. If I was Marksman I would have popped Readiness and beat it.

Healer DCed after that so we bailed and decided we’d try our luck again with the instance. This time we fielded a full guild group and went to the zone in and.. well, zoned into Zul’Gurub. That was met with more success.

We killed the first few mini-bosses and got up to the first boss. Only had one zonewide disconnect up to that point. It was a good one too. Some of us reappeared at our bind point, others appeared ungrouped in the instance then got teleported to the bind point and one actually appeared to discover he was dead.  We then struggled getting back into the zone.

You know there are problems with an instance when you see a ton of people hanging around outside the entrance of the zone.. or on the other side of the glowy portal.

Back to the first boss. It was that Venom Priest or something-or-rather. Very weird fight. He hits like a kitten, but has this channeled DoT which needs be interrupted. He also has a frontal cone attack that seems to insta-kill you if you get hit by it. Oh and while fighting him this green stuff flows across the floor making a maze. If you touch this green stuff you die. Kaput. Dead. At some point during the fight he’ll pop back up to his alter and create these beams of death that will chase a couple of players through the maze.

I think you can jump over the green part of the maze, but I wouldn’t suggest it unless it’s a last resort because if you miss, you die.

We managed to get it down after several attempts but had to call it there because our raid started.

Back over to Kremus, Blood Deathknight of Studly Face Pounding and off to BoT.

Trash was interesting. I think I was actually getting disarmed by some of them. That sort of sucks for a DK and I don’t remember it happening previously. Also, my runes seemed a little wonky with how they were refreshing. In some cases they didn’t seem to. Weird.

We step up to Halfus. It’s an easy combo. We decide I’ll tank Halfus while the other tank deals with the two drakes. Shadow Smite/Bite/Kite/DoDamageToTheRaid ability was up so I had to interrupt him.

Oh.

Did I mention I ditched the Runic Power free Mind Freeze talents because it was also part of my Lichbourne spec? A spec that had the glyph nerfed and didn’t seem all that great after the changes? Yeah, I decided to spend those 7(ish) points elsewhere. Longer disease times, more damage… good, fun stuff.

Looks like I’ll have to switch back. Don’t tell UFTimmy though, because I’m doing my best to deny that I have to switch back. Oh wait, he reads this. No, I should be safe, it’s clearly too long for him to read through. Whew.

So we swapped tanks and two shotted Halfus (first attempt being a wipe because my RP cost requiring interrupt cost RP… and I didn’t have RP for it. I took the drakes and the other tank took Halfus. Win. Got the achievement too. And a Guild Challenge.

All sorts of win.

I had a brain fart moment on Valiona, namely during the set up. We had to juggle roles because it’s one tankable. I thought I’d DPS, other tank (offspec heals) would tank and we’d flip a DPS (Hai Jason!) to heals. That sorta didn’t make sense so someone suggested another change. What I heard was, Mike (other tank) heals, I DPS and you tank. Which was what Jason said only ‘you’ was me and ‘I’ was him. I didn’t flip around the you and I so I heard I’d DPS, the other tank would heal and the DPS (ele shaman) would tank.

Yes, I admit. I had beer.

That sorted out, it was a one shot and almost a two-heal (I think?) because we lost Tim pretty early on. I was impressed that we only faced Theralon once, usually we see him twice and there is a messy phase switch because we get a blackout while Theralon is dropping his balls on us.

Speaking of two heals, we two healed our way through the earlier fights in BWD on Sunday. It was nice to have extra DPS.

Two tank pieces dropped. I picked up a bracer (had more STR which helps parry and replaced an expertise/mastery secondary with parry/mastery). I asked our back up tank if he wanted it but he was fine with the Ramkahet rep ones (which I had). The other tank piece was the awesome trinket. I still had priority over the other tank but passed on it because it wouldn’t make sense to snag it while I’m hoping to ramp up Smaken for a DPS spot.

Don’t tell the other DPS, they’ll be scared.

I’m still a ways off though. As noted above, Smaken’s ilevel is too low for the newer heroics and he’s into the older ones mainly because I bought my way in with PVP gear. Still lots of rep to work on and even tradeskills.

4 thoughts on “Smooth Like Butter…

  1. I read it! I read it all!

    1. I told you not to ditch your free interrupt, nublet.

    2. I died during Halfus, which was two healed. I lived through Valiona. I died in Halfus because one of the tanks went down and the whelps all decided to come hug me quickly.

    3. Long live the main change!

  2. 1. Yeah yeah. I still don’t like it but the extra RP pool size increase will also help with the brez cost. I’ll likely drop the AP increaser from Blood and get Butchery which should (slowly) increase my RP while in combat. Little bits help.

    2. Yes, I have no idea which tank died.. *cough*.

    3. Already eyeballing some areas to sort out with Smaken. I might give MM a look sooner than I though so as to get used to it. Damn I need to get my reps up, cap my Engineering and pick up some of the rep items still. Missing a JC recipe that I’ll use so I’ll work towards that too. So much to do…

  3. no comment on being 1.7 mil from killing council? I was surprised at my healing when I looked at the logs, crazy!

Leave a Reply

