Raid Truths


I saw this linked to over at Spinksville and gave it a read and nodded in agreement. It’s actually a short list of hard truths about raiding and raid guilds from the perspective of leadership and raiders. Good stuff, read it.

I’ve been a co-guild leader, officer, veteran, adviser and member through many different MMOs and had vowed to never be more than a good member because there was just too much I didn’t want to bother with as a leader – I just wanted to play. I’m now an officer in a guild. What happened?

Here is my take on the truths.

Leadership:

The truth is: you are doing this for yourself.

Definitely. This is a hard one to remember (for me) sometimes because I get too caught up in trying to keep the peace or deal with issues that I feel like I’m doing it for the good of the ‘whole’. I’m not, I’m ultimately doing it to ensure my play time is fun. I admit, I am playing WoW with some people that have been around for several years, so it’s not as cold and callous as that – I want to play the game with them, but if they leave, I will still want to play the game.

I left the previous guild because a time shift in the raid times collided with another of my hobbies (my weekly RPG session that isn’t so weekly lately). I know a number of people were disgruntled for various reasons (from the guild I was in prior to a merger) so I mentioned it to them targeting Cataclysm time frame with the hopes of running a 10 man raid guild. I quickly realized the only way to avoid having raid times shift into a time unsuitable to me was to control it by having a hand in running the guild.

The truth is: you should not expect much appreciation or thank-yous from others.

As a leader, I don’t expect it. As a member in a non-leadership role but having done it in the past, I tried to post the odd thank you and appreciative tell. The author is right, most members who have only ever been members have no idea the kind of stuff the leadership has to deal with. Some of it might be obvious while other stuff isn’t. Most of it isn’t.

The truth is: you Sir or Madam are replaceable.

Yes. Other people are more adept and capable of running the guild. If I were to leave things would carry on either with this guild or another. I recognized that a long time ago. Still good to note if you haven’t come to this conclusion.

Raiders:

The truth is: raid guilds are a contract.

I like this one. By joining to be a raider you’re agreeing to do the best you can, do the research, do what’s necessary to get the gear for becoming raid viable, staying on top of changes and making adjustments as needed. If you’re not doing that, do something else.

We’ve held back people from being full rank raiders because they were reliant on others to do the research for them, were unwilling to commit time and resources to keeping up and because their performance (overall) wasn’t consistently good.

The truth is: if you have never formed and/or lead a raid guild yourself, you will never know how much extra time and work your guild leaders put into the game, what pressure they shoulder at times and what secret dramas and screwups they deal with that you will never hear about.

Yes.

Best thing you can do for a leader is be as little a problem as possible. Be willing to talk things over reasonably and not bottle things up and explode.

You might not realize it (because it sounds like I’m focused on my awesome DPS numbers) but we do go over logs, discuss performance, discuss survivability and dig into class research that might not be our area of expertise to see if you’re doing it wrong. That’s just a part of it.

The truth is: you are a big fish in a small pond.

I did a double read on this. I misread it the other way around, but yeah, it’s true. You might be the best player in your guild of 20-30 people (or even 200+ characters that aren’t max level or only casual) but the game has a population in the millions… you’re probably not better than everyone else.

Sometimes it’s time to move on or up, sometimes it isn’t – that’s up to you to determine. Sometimes it’s time to try something new or different. I’m quite comfortable with where I am.

 

(read the original article, it was pretty good)

Leave a Reply

