Firelands Tonight – Do You Know Where Your Raiders Are?


Blizzard is releasing 4.2 today with Firelands that contains seven new bosses for people to throw their virtual corpses at.

I can’t say I’m overly excited or I’m just a little too tired to be excited. Probably a little anxious because they’ve made some changes to Marksman spec for Hunters. I don’t care how they spin it, it’s a nerf, twice over.

First nerf is Multishot damage because it’s too easy to get a lot of damage with it. Sure, because other classes have complicated AE devices… you know, like Blizzard or whatever it is Druids do to hit 40k DPS in a couple of seconds.

Hey, I’m a DPS class. It’s what I do. It’s all I can do. When it comes to groups I have to way 15-40 minutes to get a random queue. When it comes to raids, I’m the more likely candidate to sit because every class can DPS… but only a few can flip to heals or tanking… so let’s reduce your only capability – DPS.

  • Multi-shot damage has been reduced. It now deals 120% weapon damage at level 80 or higher, down from 137%.

This is going to hurt Marksman DPS AE DPS a lot but not really impact SV so much since they get their Serpent Sting ticks applied on impact of Multishot. Excuse me… which is too easy to get AOE damage on now?

On the other hand, traps might be a little more useful now if they’re properly accounting for stats like hit and attack power.

  • Traps now scale with hunter stats such as hit, expertise, spell penetration and attack power as intended.

Second nerf is reduction on Careful Aim. This is a talent that increases your crit chance for the first bit of a mob’s life. Cool. They’re reducing this because Hunters benefit from it too much vs. most raid bosses. Right.

I love how they phrase it:

Marksmanship

  • Careful Aim now grants additional critical strike chance against targets over 90% health, up from 80% health.

They make it sound like it was a benefit. “Up from 80%!” No, that’s a bad. See, we had that crit bonus for the first 20% of the mob health where as now we’re going to have it for the first 10%. “Up from 80%!”, try “up your ass Marksman Hunters!” It sounds like they might have increase the % of crit gained for that 10%. I might find myself moving a point out of this… I’ll see.

Oh wait, but reducing this talent in the Marksman tree has hurt Survival DPS so we have to tweak their DPS because we’ve nerfed a Marksman talent.

Survival

  • Black Arrow damage done has been increased by roughly 40%.

A MARKSMAN TALENT. Excuse me for being irrational for a moment.

Where is our 40% buff? Why not tweak Aimed Shot a little more… maybe increase the instant cast proc rate or allow us to cast it while in Aspect of the Fox?

Sadness.

I won’t lie, I have no love for Survival spec. I can’t stand the rotation, I dislike not having Silencing Shot and Readiness. Having an extra CC is nice… you rarely see SV Hunter actually using it though.

I haven’t had much success at finding raid videos (or time to watch them) for spoilers so it’ll be a nice learning experience and a bit of a surprise, assuming I don’t start to hate being Marksman.

I suspect we’ll have a good turn out of Raiders. I’m not sure how many people played around on the PTR and previewed things. Should be interesting.

First few things I’ll do is rearrange my characters on the character select screen, sort out my macros, pick up  a trinket off the JP vendor and maybe poke around a little to find some of the newer dailies so I can get cracking on that.

 

EDIT: For people looking for raid boss info, you can find the bosses and links to their info under the second heading on this MMO Champion page.

2 thoughts on “Firelands Tonight – Do You Know Where Your Raiders Are?

  1. Thanks Evan. I found a bunch from MMO-Champion that I tacked on. I still need to find time to watch them and read up on the abilities. I might get some time at lunch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

