[TOR] Casual Approach to SW:ToR


I’m going to be stepping back and taking a casual approach to Star Wars: The Old Republic. Sure, you can argue that five hours per week raiding isn’t exactly hardcore, but I’d counter with, “Being up to midnight or later for a game isn’t exactly casual.”

I’m not going to race for the end game. I’m going to sit back and just play the game for fun. And I’m going to have a bunch of alts. Nothing new there except that a lot of them are probably not going to go very far. Unlike in WoW where I have three level 85s, two more in the 80s and another one on the edge of hitting WotLK range.

I’m going to have alts for these reasons:

1. See the various class content.
2. One for myself.
3. One for playing with the LBO.
4. One for playing with the LLO (most likely).
5. One for playing with other family.
6. A bunch of others because I’m going to be hard pressed to settle on one for myself.

Talking to points two and six; I’m undecided as to which class I want to play. I suppose the first thing I need to decide is Republic or Sith?

Given my history of completing games as ‘goodly’ types, I suspect I’ll end up going Republic. I always try to play evil or mean sides in RPGs but I can’t sustain it. I usually lose interest, though I am hoping there will be some tougher choices in SW:ToR. Going Republic means one of the following: Trooper, Smuggler, Jedi Knight or Jedi Consular.

Trooper isn’t overly interesting to me with one exception being the armor. I love the look of the armor, but I’m not sure about the whole Trooper thing because they’ve often been the disposable heroes of Star Wars – sort of like the red-shirt guys in the landing parties from Star Trek. Some of the guns might be neat, but I’m not sure. I think subconsciously I’m tying the Trooper to the characters I played in Tabula Rasa and I didn’t really enjoy that gameplay. I’ll likely try it, but this is the least interesting (for me) on the list of Republic options.

Smuggler is one that really appeals to me for some reason. I like the pistols and roguish nature of it. I guess I like the freedom of it as well. I can be a cocky braggart without being a complete douche. Gameplay looks like it could be amusing and I do like the ship. I think this, being a ranged skirmishing class, might feel closer to my beloved Hunter class in WoW. I think I’ll play this one on my own.

Playing a Jedi is a must at some point and I suspect I’ll end up playing a Consular with the kids and maybe a Knight with other family members. I haven’t done a lot of reading up on the classes yet but it seems the Consular will be more caster-like while the Knight will be more in your face, chopping your hand off type of guy. I’ll go that route when I know my gaming partners won’t be upset that I’m killing all the ‘bad guys’. When playing with the boys, I’ll have the Consular which could also be a capable healer so I’ll run it as a support type.

I am aware that other classes can heal and I might go that route if it seems interesting, I just have these concepts in my head.

I asked the LBO which side he’d want to play on and he said the ‘good guys’ which surprises me because he likes playing Horde side and doesn’t shy away from playing the ‘bad guys’ in other games (i.e. in Lego Batman, the Joker was his favorite while in Lego Harry Potter he preferred Lord Voldemort – yes, I was worried).

I haven’t asked the LLO which side he’d play as just yet, but I think he might lean towards the Sith. The Dark Side of the Force is strong in that one! When playing Lego Star Wars he was a big fan of Darth Maul, Count Dooku, Darth Vader and the Emperor. I’m suspect I’ll nudge him towards playing the Jedi because I’m not sure how ‘mature’ a game this is going to be just yet.

At some point I will have to try the Sith out and it may be that I go that route with other family that will be playing. For now, I’m going to focus on the Republic side.

Leave a Reply

