[PC] Sanctum is Amusing


I picked this up off of Steam just yesterday. I had seen it previously but wasn’t sure exactly what it was until I tried the demo. I enjoyed the demo enough to drop 20$ on getting the full version with the extra DLC on it.

It’s a First-Person Shooter version of Tower Defense. You face waves of varied enemies and you need to defend your core against them. To do so, you build blocks to re-route the enemy and delay them from getting at your core. You can then upgrade the blocks to have weaponry in them which creates a deadly maze of death! There are also floor tiles you can place down that slow, amplify damage or even harm aliens that pass over them. Also there are flying aliens so varies anti-air weapons exist as well and you need to pay attention to ensure you have that covered. You can also choose to upgrade a block into a televator (I think it’s called) which is a point you can teleport to and also doubles as an elevator if you’re down in the maze and need to get out.

Blocks aside, you have your own load out of weapons of which you can pick three to bring into a map: assault weapon, sniper rifle, shotgun or freeze gun. Each has an alternate fire as well; assault weapon has a grenade launcher, sniper rifle zooms in (twice) and the shotgun builds up a charge until you release it. I haven’t really played with the freeze gun so I can’t really say what it does. The weapons are limitless in ammo but you have a number of shots before the weapon needs to reload or overheats.

Between each wave of aliens, you’re given more resources which you can spend on building more blocks, adding weapons, upgrading block-weapons or upgrading your own weapons.

The alien AI is very simple, they’ll run blindly forward taking the shortest route to your power core. They don’t try to attack you on their way by but will trample you if you’re in the way. They have a various number of forms including two fliers (spores and what look like wasps that dart about and are hard to hit) and several walkers. The walkers have varying characteristics including specific weaknesses. Some are invulnerable to damage from the front, others have mobile or tiny weak spots, one takes more damage as you do more damage to it and can take a lot of damage and another can ball up into a cocoon but is otherwise really fast.

There is a limited number of maps to play on and you’re limited to where you can build blocks. Some have on single entry point while others have multiple attack points. I think the most difficult one had four attack points, two on each side of a really large field with your core in the middle. With limited resources it was quite tricky to build a maze, defenses and teleporters to get around quickly. I almost ended up losing that one because I underestimated the gun placements I had and fliers (spores) started piling into my core.

Something about the game appealed to me. I think it goes back to my childhood years where I’d draw mazes laced with deadly traps and vicious weapons, then I’d imagine a how someone might stumble through. Well, no more imagining, now I can make the mazes (in a very limited fashion) and watch as a horde of different aliens rolls through getting diced up.

It does support up to four players in multi-player mode – which I have yet to try out. I’m not sure how that works. Are there new maps? Do you share resources? Is only one person a builder?

I can think of several improvements. Having alternative player models (or even skins) would be nice and more player weapons would be nice too. The game has a very small selection of maps, from what I see, which is somewhat surprising given most of them are fairly simple.

Heck, a map editor might be cool too – something like a tile placer with some obstacle options (think Neverwinter Nights 1 here); but I’m guessing that would be a lot of work. It’s too bad, a lot of communities spring up around games because of the option for user created content.

Good game, very amusing but needs more maps. I’d definitely recommend trying out the demo to see if it’s your cup of tea before buying.

Leave a Reply

