[TOR] Dead Raider?


Since hitting level 50 in SWTOR yesterday I’ve been thinking about what I want to do. I even went as far as asking Captain Internets what there is to do at level 50. Okay, so it wasn’t that far to IM UFTimmy and ask him if he has dug anything up yet. He did, of course. And here are the two links he provided me with.

Reddit

OwnedCore.com

I thanked him and excitedly began to read through the links, starting in the order provided. As I read, my excitement faded.

  • Daily quests to get Epic mods and tokens.
  • Daily hard mode flashpoint runs with some daily quest you can pick up as well as a weekly.
  • PVP grinding for tokens which can be traded in for other tokens to get gear and bags with random gear items in them than you might be able to use?

It was a big turn off, especially hearing most of the hard mode flashpoints appear to be in a bad state.

Granted, that is if I wish to continue playing Darth Tox Obliteration, my Sith Assassin. I do have the option to roll another class which excites me more than continuing this character. And that seems wrong to me.

SPOILERS INCOMING. I figured I’d be nice about it and actually warn before I spoil rather than after.

It seems wrong that I work my character up from slavery, into the harsh Sith training despite Overseer Harkun (who you never get to kill) being against me where I prove myself as the most powerful option for Lord Zash who selects me personally over Harkun’s little toy because she recognizes my awesomnity (it’s a new word, I’m petitioning the Oxford Dic. people).

She uses me to kill off one of her opponents, Darth Skotia, and takes on his mantle (after I did all the dirty work) and I later learn she might have plans to kill me? I discover that isn’t entirely true, the bitch wants my body and not in the fun way! The relics she has me going all over the universe for? Yeah, they’re part of a ritual that allows her to move her consciousness into my body, crushing my own and taking over! She wasn’t even really a hot blonde! I don’t mean curtains didn’t match the rug, I mean she was old and decrepit! I show up to give her the relics and sort her out and manage to defeat her though she still manages to get her ritual going. Khem Val bails me out by getting in the way and interrupting it. He suffers for it by having Zash invade his body and they struggle back and forth about who is going to be in charge.

Almost immediately after I’m done that, I get suckered by Darth Thanaton – Zash’s higher up – into retrieving a journal from a tomb, only that tomb’s ghostly inhabitant is prone to killing invaders. An ancestor intervenes (he popped up before and is the source of the original warnings against Zash), calls me a noob for not being prepared then suggests I go learn how to deal with ghosts in another tomb where the rituals for that are tucked away. I do so, I learn I can suck the ghosts into me gaining their power and knowledge. So I do that and deliver this journal to Thanatos. He isn’t pleased because he expected me to be dead so he kills me on the spot. Only I’m not dead. The ghosts in me interceded and took the brunt of the impact. Zash’s newer apprentices pull me out of there before my body can be incinerated.

I then learn I need to collect more ghosts to be able to defeat Thanaton because he’s looking to squash everything Zash previously had. So I go ghost busting. I think I pick up another two or three and confront Thanatos again, this time on Korriban in his meditation chambers. I explode with power but he gets away. New problem that no one warned me about… holding all that power is deteriorating my body and mind too. I’ve got to go looking for a fix. Thanaton has cleverly removed references to how to fix this by my clever minions (including Zash in Khem Val’s body) learn there are two means for this. First is an old alien device that is said to be able to cure or fix anyone. Second is a ritual that is supposed to fix my head and let me better control things. Off I go to deal with this while the threat of Thanaton looms over my head.

By the way, the whole way through all the levels I’ve visited numerous planet and was key to the Empire’s success on every one of them. Which was nice to seem to be so important. I think the main one that emphasizes it is Corelia where there is a cinematic of you being awesome there (awarded a medal).

Back on track, so I go to Belsavis where this alien tech is supposed to be, find it after blazing my way all over the planet dealing with stuff. It turns out it is a computer AI which is hooked up to a device that can deconstruct and reconstruct things on a molecular level. So I get rebuilt, no more deteriorating body. I just need to sort my head out – no shrinks in SWTOR.

Off to Voss where I have to actually play nice! Sort of. This was a cool change. The Empire and the Republic are battling (diplomatically) for the allegiance of a race called the Voss. They are powerful Force users, though use it in a different way from  both the Jedi and the Sith. The Gormak are also there, savage, hostile but clever and able to adapt and improve tech they get their hands on. These dudes want to get off planet but can’t because they don’t have spaceships yet and the Voss don’t seem to want them to have them either. Throughout questing on the planet, I learn that this wasn’t just discovered, Jedi and Sith had been here before. The Sith dismissed the Gormak while the Jedi didn’t. The Jedi altered the Gormak and used them to fight the Sith… they turned the Gormak into the Voss.

Dun dun daa!

Back to fixing my head. I run through a bunch of rituals to learn how to dream walk then learn I need a Gormak to help me with the ritual. I find one, we sleep together (you need to sleep to dream walk…), he uses some primitive holocron to force the ghosts in my head to manifest where I defeat them. This sorts my head out. They’re still there, but they don’t come out unless I want them to.

Sweet!

Now that I’m sorted out, I can go after Thanaton.

I’m skimming over a lot of things like picking up a young Jedi Padawan and corrupting her. Picking up an apprentice from Korriban. Another companion from Hoth who is into old stuff but is a wickedly good healer. I’m pretty sure there were side quests for the companions if you got their affection up high enough they’d gush. I could chase those down, but I didn’t short of killing Khem Val’s friend.

There is a bit of cat and mouse with Thanaton, he calls me out in some old traditional duel but tries to end me before I get there (while I’m doing the same thing). We meet on Corelia, he sicks a minion on me. I defeat it. He sicks two cyborg Sith guys on me, I defeat them too. He then fights me. I defeat him and he runs back to Korriban to the Dark Council. Oh, I forgot to mention that he gets promoted to the Dark Council so I’m basically dicking with a guy that is second in line of authority, right behind the Emperor.

I head to Korriban for the final show down. He’s got minions outside trying to prevent me from getting in. I defeat them and get in. We fight, I crush him again but before I get the chance to finish him off, we jump into a cinematic where he starts pulling out all the vicious Force powers he has and flings them at me.

I soak them up. Om nom nom. I then blast him. The Dark Council finishes him off and promotes me to fill his position. Yeah. Dark Councilman Tox, bitches! I have to go back to  Dromund Kaas and let them know at the Sith Palace there that I’m a new boss in town, so I go and there is this cinematic where Khem Val announces me as the new dude who you kneel to. It actually reminded me of the ending scene in Star Wars where Chewie roars and all the guards turn and stomp to attention. Pretty neat.

OKAY SPOILERS OVER

So after doing ALL that and having such an epic story to play through, I’m now supposed to do dailies on Belsavis and Illum? Run Flashpoints on hard mode over and over? Try to find a suitable guild for me to raid with?

Bleh.

It’s kinda like a bad sequel. I’ll likely play a Republic character for a bit because the leveling experience is better than the end game (IMO).

Maybe I’m just uninterested in raiding and chasing gear? Because it’s not nearly as fun as I thought it was.

Leave a Reply

