[BOOK] iBook Dirty Deals FTW!


I figure I’ll take advantage of Apple’s dirty deal with some publishers to undercut Amazon and so I ordered a book from iBook which saved me $1.25. Yeah, I know I probably could have found a book for free or gone to some site out of Russia and paid only 99 cents for it but I figured I’d support Apple’s underhanded dealings.

Actually, I just really wanted to try out an eBook on my iPad 2. I downloaded Kindle app, created an Amazon account then saw the book I was interested in was $8.25 on Amazon but only $6.99 on iBook so I went with iBook.

Oh, what book did I get?

Ender’s Game.

I read the preview chapter on iBook, found it interesting and decided to pick it up. I haven’t been able to put it down since – then my son borrowed the iPad for a bit which sort of forced me to put it down. It’s now sitting on the couch next to me, demanding I keep reading to hear more about how Ender is handling Battle School.

As I read, I can’t help but draw parallels to some more recent stories involving child prodigies coming from difficult family situations and who were groomed at a school away from home to save the world from some form of evil… only magic instead of science. Just some similarities, it’s nothing like Avatar and Pocahontas.

I’d mention how many pages it is, but that depends on which orientation my iPad is at – 418 portrait, 821 landscape.

Good read.

One thought on “[BOOK] iBook Dirty Deals FTW!

Leave a Reply

