[PC] Classical Gameplay


Legend of Grimrock.

I only have one real complaint so far: spellcasting. I hate the mechanism for spell casting. It should pause when you pop open the casting panel, fux around with the glyphs then click the cast button. I also dislike that you don’t start with any spells making your Mage pretty close to useless at the start.

That and spiders attack way too fast. F spiders. F poison.

Oh, and they could really use keybindings for making your characters activate what ever is in their hands instead of clicking. I’ve long ago dropped left-clicking on specific GUI items in games.

So far I am enjoying the game. It’s a throw back to the Eye of the Beholder/Dungeon Hack type games from SSI – which I loved to death. Definitely feels like there is more movement required in both the puzzles and combat. I remember the puzzles in the SSI games being a little less complicated and combats less kiting… maybe that’s just the spiders being so tough.

I’m down in level three or four and there are spiders… lots of them. Just when I think they are done with, more appear and just devour my poor Minotaur, Human, Frog-dude and Bug-boy. I mourn their passing. Good thing I’m almost done with the spiders because I’ve finally put enough points into Earth Magic to get Poison Shield… which doesn’t last long enough nor prevent your guys from getting poisoned.

Did I mention I hate spiders?

F spiders.

 

Leave a Reply

