[TV] Summer Shows


I’m going to be following The Glades, Rookie Blue and Continuum.

The Glades is back on A&E starting up this weekend (Sunday night!). They last left off with Calle being offered a job elsewhere because the hospital she works at is shutting down. She ends up not taking the job, showing up at Jim’s place instead. Not exactly an explosive ending to the season, but it was a nice change for sure. I’m going to guess she’ll get more hours working with FDLE or need to pick up work elsewhere to finish her schooling. I wonder where this is going to go, though I expect to see beautiful scenery (both kinds!), interesting murder cases and lots of witty remarks – I’ve always sort of viewed this as the House of homicide detective shows.

Rookie Blue is another Police drama which I got suckered into. Both TheWife and I enjoy it so we’ve continued watching it. I believe it takes place somewhere in Canada so my American (or European) readers might not know about this show. This sort of replaces Hawaii Five-O in that it’s a bit more of a no-brainer, entertainment show with some drama and pretty people. The premiere has already happened last week. Andy returns from suspension to be picked up but the main source of trouble which leads to other trouble when William Shattner causes an accident. I won’t spoil, but yeah, William Shattner was on there. I will say he doesn’t leap across the hood of any cars, but he does slug someone and comes off as a grumpy old man. Looking forward to more.

Continuum is a new show on Showcase (I’m not sure if it’s exclusive to that and I’m rushing to get this post in before dinner or my laptop battery dying – whichever comes first) where terrorists from the future escape execution by travelling back in time by 65 years (from 2077 to now, 2012). A clever law enforcer gets caught up in the portal and is sucked back as well. I won’t spoil much more than that other than to mention this one has potential. It seems to have decent production, decent writing and appealing lead actors. And it’s sci-fi… sort of.

 

Leave a Reply

