[WoW] Rage Kick!


It appears tanks aren’t as irreplaceable as they once were. You’re not allowed to be a raging idiot, call people names and bitch about DPS doing their job when you’re not.

What’s this you say?

Well, I was playing on my Warrior – who is quite geared now – in a heroic because I wanted to get some Valor to upgrade items some more. Generally, groups in Stormrage’s Battlegroup are hit and miss. You get some low DPS (I’m talking under 20k or sometimes not even showing up on the meter), tanks that don’t know where to go or cannot be healed or healers that are out of mana all the time.

Doesn’t bother me at all. I’m patient, I have always been unless it’s clearly obvious the group cannot defeat a given boss I don’t quit the group. The last time that happen was in Wrath of the Lich King.

So I’m in this heroic (Scholomance) and the party loads in. Someone steps up – I thought it was the healer, but it wasn’t – and face pulls the first two trash. Tank loses agro all over the place.

Now he’s a paladin. He’s got Captain America’s Shield and Thor’s Hammer Mjolnir so why is he losing agro?

He (or she) gets all pissy telling people not to pull. Ok, I can respect that. I’ve tanked as a DK, Warrior and a Paladin (though not too recently). I also have some limited experience tanking as a Druid (very limited, I didn’t like it).

First boss. He jumps down agros stuff, I jump down a second or two later, start beating on stuff. With the four trash things around the boss dead, I pop my DPS cooldowns and start slaughtering the boss. Sure enough, I end up with agro (220k DPS on a single target does that to you sometimes).

Tank gets all pissy.

We finish the fight with me tanking the boss. No deaths.

Tank gets even more pissy and won’t shut up. Does a bad pull and doesn’t do anything to keep agro when I jump in to do damage. Soon I find everything on me and my health bar is all over the place. I survive thanks to use of defensive cooldowns (evidence I’m not just a DPS that mashes the first thing off cooldown, I know my defensive abilities) and good healing.

I admit, I was tempted to swap to Prot Stance to make the healer’s life easier, but part of me was hoping the tank would snap out of his temper tantrum and take threat back. Apparently not.

Tank is clearly pissed that his plan was foiled by a far better player and won’t shut up, explaining to me about Vengeance and threat.

Right. I can’t help but inquire if it’s that time of the month and whether they forgot to turn Righteous Fury on or not. Usually, I don’t do this sort of thing but it’s early morning and I can’t help to think if the tank was actually pushing the keys on his keyboard to perform his abilities and generate threat instead of bitching at me, then maybe his agro wouldn’t be so bad.

We kill another boss, it doesn’t end up on me – namely because it’s the one that teleports around. Okay, so it ended up on me for a little bit – I suspect he wasn’t trying at that point, hoping I’d get killed. I think when it wasn’t on me, it might have been on the rogue.

He’s still bitching when a Vote Kick panel comes up. Comment is something like, “I’d rather heal the real warrior” but I didn’t get to read it because it disappeared so quick and the tank was gone.

Turns out the rest of the group was tired of the Paladin’s tirade. Maybe he was role-playing a sanctimonious Paladin? Probably not, Stormrage isn’t a RP server so it shouldn’t have any in it’s battle group.

I bask in the momentary delight of silence. In come the spam of cross realm tells. I try to put them on ignore, apparently that doesn’t work.

So after several minutes of being spammed called a kid (lawl), black and white trash, retarded, all sorts of complaints about Blizzard dumbing down the game and elite warriors think they’re god-like and aren’t, the game is easy and dumb… I report him for spamming. Apparently, that works.

New tank appears in short time and we move on. It’s a DK and he’s decent enough though not so good with the AOE agro for some reason (I didn’t see a single Death and Decay go down).

We proceed along and kill everything, no deaths (healer was on the ball) and no further issues.

So to my dear friend on Malfurion (Adina or Ardina or something like that) – 3/4 group members preferred my DPS over your tanking and were willing to wait on a tank rather than listen to you bitch and moan about how bad you are at your class and how it was everyone else’s fault.

The spam I was getting over tells was quite ignorant, racist, juvenile and idiotic, though I do have to agree with his assessment of WoW becoming easy and dumbed-down.

There is also something to say about failing in a game that was trivialized and dumbed-down.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “[WoW] Rage Kick!

  1. That’s hilarious. I had a love/hate relationship with tanking in WoW. I wasn’t terrible, but I was always stressed everytime I pugged an instance.

  2. I’ve recently had a tank just up and quit the group after the first boss would only be on him for the duration of his taunt. i wasn’t even using cooldowns at all. I wouldn’t have been in there but I was nabbing some Justice Points to convert to Honor for some sweet transmog gear. 😦

    I can’t help that I’m offensive.

Leave a Reply

